California

I can’t imagine a better place to live in than California.

20150311_190040  This image was taken from my neighborhood park on a regular afternoon at dusk.  Images such as these seem to occur almost daily and in fact, I have become almost impartial to sunsets.  This goes to show that I witness nature’s beauty almost every single day of the week.  Not only is Californian scenery beautiful, but the climate in Southern California is amazing.  For me, below 60 degrees is a jacket day.  I don’t mean to rub it in, but while many states across the east are packed in during a snow storm, I am sitting in my backyard soaking up the sun watching my avocados grow.  The difference between California in the “winter” (we don’t really have winter out here) and other areas of the country is astounding.   For example, I can go swim in the ocean in January while people in New York are stuck in a blizzard.

IMG_2754

This beautiful image was engraved into the sand by a receding bundle of kelp.  Things like this don’t happen very often in Oklahoma, do they?  Montana?  Nope.  On a nice winter day, I went running at the beach without a shirt and I managed to get a little tan whilst not freezing to death.  Try doing that in Chicago in the thick of the winter.

Anyways, back to the sunset.

neighbor sun

I hope my neighbor doesn’t mind me taking a picture of their house without asking, but it was for the sake of beauty!!!  Notice the reflection of the sunset in the house’s window.  That was the first time I had ever seen such a reflection, so I thought it was worthy of a picture.

20150311_190311

As the sun sets on this blog post, I remind myself how lucky I am to be living in California.  I can enjoy time at the beach virtually whenever I want, and I can watch sunsets almost every day as well.  Being a Californian will perhaps spoil me for the rest of my life if I live elsewhere, but I have to say that I wouldn’t want to live anywhere else right now.

-Chris.

Leave a Reply

